T20WC: Babar, Rizwan rewrite history

It has been a fantastic World Cup for Pakistan. Men in Green not only won five of six matches of the tournament but also won the hearts of millions of cricket fans all over the world. The world cup gave Green Shirts a golden chance to prove their quality of cricket and class and they took full advantage of it.

Opener Mohammad Rizwan became the first batsman to score 1,000 T20I runs in a calendar year. The wicketkeeper achieved the milestone in just 20 innings.

According to the latest ICC T20 rankings, Fakhar Zaman moved up eight places to 40th. He had scored thrilling 55 against Australia in the semifinal. While spinner Shadab Khan moved up seven places to 16th spot after sending four batsman to pavilion for just 26 in the same match.

Babar Azam was the top scorer and hence named as the captain of the ICC team of the tournament:

Have a look on the team:

David Warner (Australia) – 289 runs

Jos Buttler (wk) (England) – 269 runs

Babar Azam (Captain, Pakistan) – 303 runs

Charith Asalanka (Sri Lanka) – 231 runs

Markram (South Africa) – 162 runs

Moeen Ali (England) – 92 runs, seven wickets

Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka) – 16 wickets

Adam Zampa (Australia) – 13 wickets

Josh Hazlewood (Australia) – 11 wickets

Trent Boult (New Zealand) – 13 wickets

Anrich Nortje (South Africa) – nine wickets

Pakistani pacer Shaheen Afridi (seven wickets) was named as the 12th player.